Hockey Season Reportand Colours

9 September 2023

The 2023 Hockey Season has been a busy, but good one. The year started with an international tour and four local tours/festivals. After successful tours, the in season matches began with two tough opponents. But Bishops Hockey rose to the challenge and learnt from those matches and every other match going forward. A goal of Bishops Hockey was and is to see every boy who plays end the season as a better player than they began. It has been encouraging to see this to be true for the majority of the players this season.
Special mention must be made to one of the most improved teams this season – the U16A team for going from a 9-0 loss to SACS in term 2 to beating them 2-1 in term 3. The most successful team this season goes to the 1st team with a win ratio close to 75%.
After a challenging last fixture against Bosch, the season ended with Interhouse hockey. It was two days filled with some great hockey and some very tightly contested matches and competition. Every team gave it their all and the final standings in the junior interhouse were: 4th Birt, 3rd Ogilvie, 2nd White and 1st Kidd and in Senior interhouse Founders 4th, White 3rd, Kidd 2nd and Gray 1st.
Well done to all boys who participated and special congratulations to the winning houses Kidd and Gray. Please come collect your trophies. 
As we reflect on the season we focus not only on the wins and losses but the life lessons that hockey has taught the boys, in particular teamwork, discipline, resilience, and the importance of never giving up. The 2023 hockey season has been a memorable one filled with ups and downs, growth, camaraderie, and sportsmanship and we look forward to another successful year in 2024.

We end the season by congratulating the following boys on being awarded colours for hockey:
Half colours
Sam Berrisford  
Oscar Blatch      
Bradley Du Toit
Christopher Gray             
Thomas Ludlam
Thomas Malan
Andrew Raubenheimer  
Albert Steyn       
Full Colours
Jack Crafford
Dylan Van Coeverden de Groot 
James Grieve     
Joshua Mettler  
Robert Veldtman             
Zac Heyns           
Ilyaas Van Graan