Water Polo News

13 March 2024

Bishops Water Polo had a highly successful term, with significant improvement across most sides as the term progressed, losing only 74 out 171 matches played. Notable highlights included the U15Bs, who achieved an undefeated season and clinching victory in their 15B tournament. The 2nd Team secured a silver medal at the Pearson Tournament, and triumphed in the 2nd Team Mazinter Cup against Rondebosch 2nds, who had previously defeated them at the Pearson Tournament.
The 1st Team had an outstanding season, with only three losses, twice to SACS and once to Rondebosch. Intriguingly, our 1st Team faced SACS seven times, losing only twice and drawing once, while encountering Rondebosch six times, with one draw and one loss. Unfortunately, one of the losses to SACS occurred in the final of the St Andrews Tournament, and the loss to Rondebosch was in the semi-finals at the Kes Tournament, which Rondebosch went on to win. The frequent encounters between these three sides in the latter stages of tournaments highlighted the strength of Western Province, and especially the Southern Suburbs Water Polo in the country at present.
Our 1st Team Water Polo side marked one of their most successful seasons for Bishops in recent history. Achievements include a silver medal at the SAC Shield Tournament, a bronze at the Kes Tournament, a gold at the SACS Night League, and a gold medal victory at the Mazinter Cup Final, where we defeated Paul Roos. Individually, there were numerous accolades, with four members of the team reaching their 100th games milestone: Jordan de Sousa (Goalie), Cameron Moon, Ross Stewart (Captain), and Thomas Truter. In addition, Thomas Truter was honoured as the attacker of the Kes Tournament, while Jordan de Sousa and Tim Young (Grade 10) made the tournament team. The team also took pride in being awarded the Fair Play Trophy at Kes for exemplary conduct both in and out of the water, marking this the second time Bishops has claimed this trophy in the last two years, reflecting the culture the side has worked hard to cultivate. Furthermore, three members of the team were selected for the WP U18 Currie Cup Team: Jordan de Sousa, Ross Stewart (Captain), and Thomas Truter. Our 1st Team Coach, Jabulani Sibiya is the coach of the WP Currie Cup U18 Team.  Well done to junior members of the 1st team, who have been selected for the WP U16 Currie Cup Team; Matt Fenn, James Malan (Captain), Tim Young and Michael Mafunda (Vice Captain). We wish them the best of luck in their endeavours.